twittermyspacefacebookyoutubeinstagram
ATSA, quand l'Art passe à l'Action
Vancouver
2011

SLIDESHOW |video|conclusion

 

THE GRUNT GALLERY & ATSA Welcomes you to THE PIGEON'S CLUB

Holidays are fast approaching, do your thoughts turn to dreams of an all-inclusive getaway, complete with exterior swimming pool and deck chairs? What perfect timing! 

COME VISIT OUR FIVE-STAR FREE FACILITY IN THE HEART OF VANCOUVER! 

20-21 MAY 2011 
2 TO 10 PM 
AT PIGEON PARK, CORNER OF HASTINGS AND CARRALL IN VANCOUVER 

THE PIGEON'S CLUB is an ALL-INCLUSIVE event complete with tourist iconography in the heart of Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside, an area where social exclusion and human suffering is among the most intense in Canada but also where there is the greatest concentration of mutual aid and frontline services... 

The GOs of THE PIGEON'S CLUB will greet its VIP guests between 2 and 10 P.M., giving voice to citizens by way of open mic, karaoke, free games and art performances promoting social interaction. The event is supported by an advertising campaign inviting all Vancouverites to come join in the game! 

ALSO IN THE LINE-UP IS THE PREMIERE OF THE FILM IN THIS MEAN TIME, an impressionist montage of ATSA based on images from their residence in Vancouver in the summer of 2009 with the grunt gallery, blending urban solitude and loss, the fullness of nature, and the daily goings-on at the Carnegie Center. The film will be screened in continuous loop on an outdoor screen at the PIGEON'S CLUB starting at sunset. 

What happens when we don't quite fit into the "package" ? Can we in fact resist or refuse to be “included”? What forms can this refusal take? These questions are vital and in keeping with ATSA’s approach, which is to induce a confrontation, a visual clash that serves to convey the meaning behind the message. 

In addition to creating a forum where society’s outcasts can meet and speak out, ATSA sets the stage for a thought-provoking critique of the big lie perpetrated by a society built on the facade of happiness and propped up by shiny, sleek tourism—a commentary on the marketing whitewash which reached its peak during the city’s 2010 Winter Olympics. 

A satirical critique of the glossy, squeaky-clean view of the world championed by travel agency brochures, which extol happiness as an all-inclusive package deal. ATSA is providing its own outrageous take on the whole aesthetic of the ALL-INCLUSIVE to better pull people’s strings and stir up debate. 

Beyond the ALL-INCLUSIVE, ATSA aims to emphasize respect, integration and coming together: the ALL INCLUDED.


slideshow

video

 

conclusion

bandecommuniquepigeon

On May 20 and 21, ATSA opened an All Inclusive at the corner of the streets Hasting and Carrall, in the heart of Vancouver’s Down Town East Side (DTES) neighbourhood, a concentration of exclusion and human distress.

We developed the theme of État d’Urgence’s 2010 edition in order to create an intervention related to our observations during our summer 2009 Vancouver residence in Canada’s poorest neighbourhood, where we noticed such decay and violence in this dream environment and at the same time, a lot of solidarity and compassion.

People often say that visiting DTES is an experience of tourism in itself, a sort of voyeurism on mendicancy. In the big picture, all the sumptuous scenery of the Rockies and of the sea nearby, an ultra-mediatized postcard incidentally used for the Olympics, exacerbates the whole thing and makes this poverty and the omnipresence of drugs even more indecent and unreal. However it is a settled reality, and just like pigeons in a park, everyone comes to look and find crumbs to peck for the day… Not too different from CLUB MED tourists who rush towards the best deck chair of the day… Human beings make for great pigeons… The only thing that changes is the scenery!

According to many inhabitants, it was not easy to come create an intervention in those "occupied territories". There is a strong perception of artists who "come make a visit and then leave", especially when they are not Vancouverites. But the human contact, the fact that we brightened the lives of people AND brought some food for thought rallied the public. We made unbelievable encounters, with comedians who incarnated G.O.s wonderfully as well as with "junkies" and passersby walking back and forth between us and chic restaurants and condos next by in Gaz Town. Our staging was able to divert people from their everyday routine and bring them to another reality which was offset enough.

Many would already like to reiterate the PIGEON’S CLUB every year! Do not worry, we will let you know what happens!

This event was possible thanks to the particular support of Quebec’s Conseil des arts et des Lettres. Special thanks to Carnegie Center.

 

 

index flashgruntlogo

twittermyspacefacebookyoutubeinstagram
Pigeon's Club à Vancouver © ATSA
atsa
Vancouver
2011

diaporama |Vidéo|Bilan

 

ATSA et la Grunt Gallery  vous invitent au PIGEON'S CLUB au coeur de vancouver

Les vacances approchent ! Vous rêvez d’évasions tout inclus, de piscines et de chaises longues ? Ne cherchez plus  : notre nouvelle installation 5 étoiles au coeur de Vancouver les 20-21 mai de 14h à 22h au Pigeon's Park, coin Hastings et Carral.


THE PIGEON'S CLUB est un TOUT INCLUS inspiré et de notre résidence estival de 2009 avec la Grunt Gallery et de notre dernier tout-inclus de l'État d'Urgence 2010.


L'intervention se déploiera avec toute son iconographie touristique au coeur du Down Town East Side de Vancouver, là où l'exclusion et la détresse humaine sont des plus palpable au Canada mais là aussi où l'entraide et les services sont les plus concentrés... 

Les Gentils organisateurs (GO) du PIGEON'S CLUB accueilleront leurs invités VIP de 14h à 22h, donnant la parole aux citoyens par le biais de micro-ouvert, karaoke, jeux et prestations artistiques gratuites qui incitent à l'interaction sociale, le tout appuyé par une campagne publicitaire invitant le tout Vancouver à venir jouer le jeu! 

Y sera aussi présenté la première du film « In this mean time », un montage impressionniste de l'ATSA basé sur les images de notre résidence vancouvéroise de l'été 2009 avec la grunt gallery où se mêlent déchéance et solitude urbaine, plénitude de nature et vie quotidienne du Carnegie Center. Le film impressionniste passera en boucle en extérieur au PIGEON'S CLUB dès la noirceur. 

Que se passe-t-il, quand on ne rentre pas dans le « package » ? Peut-on résister, refuser de s’inclure ? Quelles formes ce refus peut-il prendre? Ces réflexions sont toujours capitales et dans la continuité de notre esthétique : amener à une confrontation, un « clash » visuel qui relaye le sens du discours. 

Tout en créant un lieu de rencontre et de prise de parole pour les plus exclus de la société, ATSA provoque un contraste criant, une réflexion et une critique sur le mensonge d'une société qui mise sur l'image du bonheur et le tourisme léché, un certain retour sur le déploiement marketing qui a connu son paroxysme lors des Olympiques de 2010. 

À la fois dérision et critique du monde « sur papier glacé » celui des brochures d’agences de voyages, celui du bonheur vendu en forfait, ATSA reprend à son compte l’esthétique du TOUT INCLUS pour mieux frapper les esprits et engager les débats. 

Au-delà du TOUT INCLUS, l’ATSA cherche à valoriser le respect, l’intégration, la rencontre : le TOUS INCLUS. 


Diaporama

Vidéo

 

Bilan

bandecommuniquepigeon

Les 20 et 21 mai dernier, l'ATSA a ouvert un Tout Inclus au coin des rues Hasting et Carrall, au coeur du quartier Down Town East Side (DTES) de Vancouver, un concentré d'exclusion et de détresse humaine.

Nous avons développé la thématique de l'édition 2010 de l'État d'Urgence afin d'en créer une intervention en lien avec les constats de notre résidence " vancouvéroise " de l'été 2009 dans le quartier le plus pauvre du Canada: une telle déchéance et violence dans cet environnement de rêve et en même temps, ce qui vient avec, c'est à dire beaucoup de solidarité, de compassion.

Les gens disent souvent qu'il y a une part de tourisme même à aller dans le DTES, un voyeurisme de la mendicité. En gros, tout ce décor fastueux des montagnes Rocheuses et de la mer si proche, carte postale ultra médiatisée entre autre avec les Olympiques, exacerbe le tout et rend cette pauvreté, cette omniprésence de la drogue encore plus indéscente, voir irréelle. Elle est pourtant bien installée, et tels des pigeons dans un parc, tous y cherchent et y trouvent leurs miettes à picorer pour la journée... Ne sont pas bien différents les touristes des CLUB MED qui se ruent sur la meilleure chaise longue de la journée...les humains font de très bons pigeons...y 'a que le décor qui change!

Au dire de plusieurs habitants du quartier, il n'était pas facile de venir créer une intervention en ces "territoires occupés". La perception des artistes qui viennent "faire leur petit tour et s'en vont" y est forte, surtout quand ils ne sont pas des vancouvérois. Mais le contact humain, le fait que nous ayons apporté à la fois du soleil dans la vie des gens ET de la matière à réflexion a rallié le public de tout acabit et nous y avons fait des rencontres inoubliables autant avec les comédiens qui ont fait leur rôle de G.O. à merveille que les "junkies" et les passants allant vers ou revenant des restos et condos chics du Gaz Town à proximité. Notre mise en scène a su détourner les gens de leur quotidien et les amener dans une autre réalité, juste assez décalée.

Certains aimeraient déjà réitérer le PIGEON'S CLUB chaque année !...n'ayez crainte on vous tiendra au courant !

 

Cet événement a été possible grâce au soutien particulier du Conseil des Arts et des Lettres du Québec.Un Merci spécial au Carnegie Center.

 

index flashgruntlogo