twittermyspacefacebookyoutubeinstagram
Tumeurs #2 _Tumentia Quisquiliae Magdalene_Photo ATSA
atsa
CAP-AUX-MEULES
2013
http://atsa.qc.ca/revue-de-presse-2013#tumentia|Revue de presse|2

Tumentia Quisquiliae Magdalene (signifying “tumours from the rubbish of the Magdalen Islands”) is a trail of mock cancerous tumours on trees. The ersatz malignant protuberances are made from materials gathered at the Îles-de-la-Madeleine waste depot, and are clumped together vertically on a number of street lamps so that they are easily visible as one arrives to the Îles at the Cap-aux-Meules dock. The trail will be treated like a contagious disease—something no-one would wish to see propagated on the islands! To keep this “disease” under control would require a reduction in the production of waste. Thus, through a playful, aesthetically captivating work, the project helps sensitize local residents and tourists alike to this critical issue described in the call for projects.

SLIDESHOW

SUMMARY

The controversy surrounding Tumentia Quisquiliae Magdalene forced the work to be dismantled two weeks earlier than planned.

Tumentia Quisquilae Magdalene will premiere at the Centre d'artistes en art actuel Admare's FAIRE AVEC event alongside works by Jennifer Bélanger, Ève Cadieux, Jean-Pierre Gauthier, Yoanis Menge, Marianne Papillon, Douglas Scholes, José Luis Torres and Jean-Yves Vigneau. The event is curated by Véronique Leblanc.

The residency will take place from June 21 to July 7, 2013.
Vernissage: July 5 and 6.
On display until July 27!

The works will explore the way we use things (objects, materials, spaces, buildings), with an emphasis on their inherent transience and obsolescence as an opportunity for transformation. The installations, sound recordings, photographs, sculptures and performance pieces, some monumental and others of an ephemeral nature, will be spread out across the archipelago and integrated into the maritime and insular environment. Together, they aim to promote a collective reflection on the local problem at the heart of the project, namely, the management of waste.

Over the course of the residency and during the event's launch on July 5 and 6, the artists will organize a series of activities open to the public (workshops, screenings, seminars, guided tours, and so on).

To view the press release, click here.

ATSA wishes to thank Communauto, partner for Summer 2013, for making it possible for ATSA's ideas to get around!

twittermyspacefacebookyoutubeinstagram
Tumeurs #2 _Tumentia Quisquiliae Magdalene_Photo ATSA
atsa
CAP-AUX-MEULES
2013
http://atsa.qc.ca/revue-de-presse-2013#tumentia|Revue de presse|2

Tumentia Quisquiliae Magdalene (Tumeurs de vidanges des Îles de la Madeleine) est un parcours de fausses tumeurs d'arbres faites à partir des matières résiduelles des Ìles de la Madeleine. Inspiré des tumeurs cancéreuses des arbres, le projet consiste en la formation de protubérances cancéreuses faites à partir d’objets récupérés du site de matières résiduelles. Nous agglutinerons ces protubérances en élévation sur quelques lampadaires bien visibles par tous dès l,entrée aux Îles à Cap-aux-Meules. Le parcours est traité comme une maladie contagieuse qu’on ne voudrait pas voir se propager aux Îles! Pour ce faire, il faudra réduire les déchets. Ainsi, tout en créant une œuvre ludique, esthétiquement intéressante, le projet sera l’occasion de sensibiliser les gens (résidents et touristes) à la problématique exprimée dans l’appel de dossier.

 

DIAPORAMA

 

bilan

La controverse entourant Tumentia Quisquiliae Magdalene a provoqué le démontage de l'oeuvre deux semaines avant la fin de l'exposition (...en savoir plus)

 

Tumentia Quisquilae Magdalene de l'ATSA voit le jour dans le cadre de Faire Avec du Centre d'artistes en art actuel Admare aux côté de Jennifer Bélanger, Ève Cadieux, Jean-Pierre Gauthier, Yoanis Menge, Marianne Papillon, Douglas Scholes, José Luis Torres et Jean-Yves Vigneau, comissarié par Véronique Leblanc.

La résidence a lieu du 21 juin au 7 juillet 2013
Commissaire: Véronique Leblanc
Vernissage les 5 et 6 juillet
En place jusqu'au 27 juillet!

Les artistes réaliseront des œuvres qui explorent l'usage que nous faisons des choses (objets, matériaux, espaces, bâtiments) et s'intéressent à leur état transitoire ou à leur désuétude comme potentiel de transformation. Réparties sur l'ensemble de l'archipel, les installations, œuvres sonores, photographiques, sculpturales ou performatives, qu'elles soient monumentales ou furtives, s'inscriront dans le contexte maritime et insulaire et contribueront à générer une réflexion collective sur la problématique locale qui inspire le projet : la gestion des matières résiduelles.

Au cours de la résidence et pendant l'événement d'ouverture, qui aura lieu les 5 et 6 juillet 2013, une série d'activités grand public sera organisée avec les artistes (workshops, projections, conférences, tours guidés, etc.).

Pour lire le communiqué de presse, cliquez ici.

ATSA tient à remercier Communauto, partenaire de l'été 2013 pour permettre à l'ATSA de faire circuler ses idées!